Back
Ars Magica

[ Home | Covenant | Resources | Line | Links | Archives ] Version française

House rules

Ars Magica Simplex
Version 0.6

Ars Magica is a rich, marvellous game. However, this richness induces some complexity, which increased in certain areas with the successive editions and sourcebooks. If, like me, you have less time to play, less time to deal with the "mechanics", or if your players are less inclined than others toward mastering extensive rules (it is also my case), this article may suit you. It aims, a bit like Michaël de Verteuil's column Heretic's Corner in Hermes' Portal, but less radically, at simplifying the rules of Ars Magica, while maintaining compatibility with the official game and its sourcebooks. Thus, I will discuss, chapter by chapter (chapter numbers are the same), all the 4th edition rules I feel interesting to modify. I will mainly focus on the most common mechanics, leaving aside those that can be easily considered as options. Of course, treat all this as suggestions and not absolute laws, especially since I have not playtested all these ideas.

II. Characters

Virtues and flaws

Bring Companions back to 7 points of virtues/flaws. The maximum of 10 generally encourages players to reach it and there are not enough mundane virtues and flaws to do it. You often get characters that are... not very consistent, to be kind.

Abilities

Abilities to suppress

Abilities to merge

Simplified list of abilities

TALENTS SKILLS KNOWLEDGES
Arcane talents
Faerie magic
Finesse (Pe)
Magical affinity
Will over form (Én)
General talents
Athletics (Én, De, Vi)
Awareness (Pe)
Charm (Pr)
Concentration (Én, In)
Guile (Co, Pe)
Exceptional talents
Animal ken (In, Pe)
Contortions (De, Fo)
Direction sense (Pe)
Divination (In)
Dousing (Pe)
Empathy
Enchanting music (Pr)
Entrancement (Pr)
Healer
Hex
Magic sensivity (Pe)
Mimicry (Co)
Premonitions
Read lips (Pe)
Second sight (Pe)
Sense holy/unholy
Visions
Weather sense (Pe)
Academic skills
Teaching (Co)
Combat skills
Brawling
Single weapon
Great weapon
Chain weapon
Longshaft weapon
Thrown weapon
Bows
Crossbows
Siege equipment
Hermetic skills
Certamen (In)
Parma Magica
Verditius magic
Performance skills
Jongleur (Co, De)
Play instrument (De, Co)
Sing (Co)
Storytelling (Co)
Rogue skills
Disguise (Pe)
Forgery (Co, In)
Legerdemain (De, Vi)
Pick locks (De)
Stealth (De)
Social skills
Bargain (Pr, Co)
Etiquette (Pr, Co)
Intrigue (Pr, Co, Pe)
Leadership (Pr)
Wilderness skills
Animal handling (In, Pe)
Ride (De, Fo)
Survival (Pe, In)
Work skills
Boating (De)
Chirurgy (In, De)
Craft (In, De)
Academic knowledges
Artes Liberales (In)
Civil and canon law (In)
Medicine (In)
Philosophiae (In)
Speak Latin (In)
Theology (In)
Arcane knowledges
Enigmatic wisdom (Pe, In)
Faerie lore (In)
Magic theory (In)
Occult lore (In)
Casual knowledges
Area lore (In)
Legend lore (In)
Organization lore (In)
Speak language (In)
Exceptional knowledges
Alchemy (In)
Herbalism (In)

Specializations

To simplify character creation, do not make players choose their specializations right away. The Storyguide can fix them up later, if necessary, depending on the characters' true actions. Sort of a small, additional reward.

III. Hermetic magic

Raw Vis

Do not differenciate Vis by technique and by form. Raw Vis is a generic energy that can be used for any kind of magic. In counterpart, the Storyguide might have to be less generous in Vis sources.

Casting spells

Requisites

Suppress casting requisites. Either make them normal requisites, or simply eliminate them. As a general rule, when creating new spells, limit requisites as much as possible.

Targeting

Some spells always reach their target, others do not. Why, after all? It's magic! Furthermore, fireball and ligthning addicts are usually expert enough in Finesse to hit each time, so let's take it easy. Consider that a correctly casted spell always hits its target.

Magic resistance

Do not roll any dice, neither for magic resistance, nor for penetration (directly consider the spell level, and not the die roll). This is justified for formulaic spells that are supposed to always produce more or less the same effect. Spontaneous spells have their level defined by a die roll, of course.

Certamen

Loss of Fatigue occurs for each range of 5 points over the opponent roll, even incomplete. It helps speeding up duels.

IV. Laboratory

The laboratory in play

Multiple activities

It is impossible to have multiple activities.

Apprentices

Teaching an apprentice

When a child becomes an apprentice, he earns his age in experience points. These points are allocated to abilities by the Storyguide. For the next 15 years, the apprentice wins 3 experience points during the season he is taught by his master, plus 1 point by exposure, for a total of 4 points per year in abilities, to be allocated by the magus' player (refer to House templates). For the 10 first years of apprenticeship, the Storyguide also assigns 1 experience point to the apprentice's abilities.

Furthermore, an apprentice earns 10 experience points in Arts and 10 spell levels per year for the 15 years of his apprenticeship, to the player's discretion. The acquired spell levels may be cumulated to later learn more powerful spells.

"Quick and dirty" method

If apprentices are only used as lab assistants, the simplest is to give them an Intelligence score and award them automatically one experience point per year in Magic Theory (which allows them to reach a score of 5 in 15 years).

VI. Combat

It is curious that combat in Ars Magica, though clearly secondary, is precise and involves lots of computing. The 4th edition has made an attempt to lighten the system, while introducing new, cumbersome rules. Globally, this was counter-productive in the end. In my opinion, this proposal goes one step further in simplification, while preserving the same spirit and becoming consistent with classical abilities usage.

Pre-computed combat totals

Combat sequence

1. Movement: Each player declares the movements and actions of his character. Then, everything follows the following phases. Within each phase, actions are simultaneous.

2. First missiles:

Target condition Modifier
Touch / Reach (less than 2 paces) No firing possible
Near (less than 15 paces) +3
Middle range (less than 50 paces) 0
Far (less than 200 paces) +6
Obscured (darkness or cover) +3
Unmoving or walking carefully 0
Hustling +3
Sprinting +6
Small or large size - Size
Aiming for one missile phase -3
Qik + Wpn skill Bows Light crossbow Heavy crossbow
-8(*) à -5 2/- 2/- 3/-
-4 à 0 1/- 2/- 2/-
1 à -5 1/- 1/- 2/-
6 à 10 1/2 1/- 1/-
11 et + 1/1 1/2 1/-

(*) -8 is the theoretic minimum with a -5 Quickness and no skill mastery (-3 penalty).

3. Melee:

Situation Modifier
Off-hand -3
High ground +3
Charging +3
Charging on horse +6
Set for charge +3

4. Seconds missiles: As first missiles

5. Magic: First spontaneous magic, then formulaic magic. A magus wearing an armor must first make a Stamina + Concentration roll to cast his spell. The difficulty factor is shown in the Fatigue table.

Fatigue

If a character rolls a 0 in combat, even if it is not a botch, he must make a Stamina + Athletics stress roll against a difficulty factor provided in the following table. In case of failure, the charater looses a Fatigue level, two or more in case of botch (depending on the botch severity, to the Storyguide's discretion).

Armor worn Difficulty Factor
Quilted / Fur 3
Heavy leather 6
Metal reinf leather 9
Leather scale 9
Steel scale mail 12
Chain mail 12
Shield or two-handed weapon +3

Damage

A wounded character looses a Body level for each 5 damage points range, even incomplete.

Combat options

Surprise attack

The surprised character does not roll any dice, he only opposes his Dexterity + Weapon skill total to his opponent's roll.

Numerical inferiority

The character in numerical inferiority opposes the same roll to all its foes, but he suffers a penalty of -3 per adversary beside the first one (-6 for 3 foes, for instance).

Disarm a foe

To disarm a foe, the action must be declared in advance and the die roll must be 10 points higher or more. The adversary is then disarmed, but suffers no damage.

Mounted combat

The character's weapon skill is limited by his Ride score. A mounted fighter has a +3 bonus to his combat roll (high ground). Fatigue rolls are replaced by Dexterity + Ride rolls against 9+. In case of failure, the fighter looses one Fatigue level. In case of botch, he falls and looses one Body level or more (depending on the botch severity, to the Storyguide's discretion).

Brawling maneuvers

Weapons and armor

Weapon Damage Strength Range Cost
Brawling weapons
Fist
Kick
Gauntlet
Knife
Dagger
 
+0
+1
+1
+2
+3
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
-
-
Inexpensive
Inexpensive
Inexpensive
Single weapons
Shortspear
Mace
Axe
Shortsword
Longsword
 
+4
+5
+6
+4
+5
 
-2
-1
+0
-2
-1
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
Inexpensive
Inexpensive
Standard
Standard
Standard
Chain weapons
Net
Whip
Morningstar (2h)
Flail (2h)
 
+0 (*)
+2
+8
+7
 
-2
-2
+1
+0
 
-
-
-
-
 
Inexpensive
Standard
Expensive
Standard
Great weapons
Quarterstaff
Greatsword
Polearm
War maul
Battleaxe
 
+3
+8
+9
+10
+10
 
-2
+1
+1
+2
+2
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
Inexpensive
Expensive
Expensive
Standard
Expensive
Longshaft weapons
Lance
Pike
Billhook
 
+6
+7
+8
 
-1
+0
+1
 
-
-
-
 
Inexpensive
Standard
Standard
Thrown weapons
Stone
Sling
Throwing knife
Throwing axe
Javelin
Caber
 
+2
+3
+3
+4
+6
+10
 
-
-
-
-1
-1
+3
 
Near
Middle
Near
Near
Near
Near
 
-
Inexpensive
Standard
Standard
Standard
Standard
Bows
Short bow
Long bow
Composite bow
 
+4
+10
+9
 
-1
+1
+0
 
Far
Far
Far
 
Standard
Standard
Expensive
Crossbows
Light crossbow
Heavy crossbow
 
+10
+12
 
-2
-2
 
Far
Far
 
Expensive
Expensive

(*) If the attack succeeds, a Dexterity roll of 9+ is necessary to break free.

Armor Protection Strength Cost
Quilted / Fur 1 - Inexpensive
Heavy leather 3 - Inexpensive
Metal reinf leather 5 - Standard
Leather scale 6 - Standard
Steel scale mail 7 - Standard
Chain mail 8 - Expensive
Buckler +1 -1 Standard
Round shield +2 +0 Standard
Kite shield +2 +0 Expensive
Tower shield +4 +1 Expensive

VII. Storyguide

Aging

The 4th edition rules are very elegant, but when it comes to age a whole turbula, they become quite cumbersome. For a simple management, the best is not to make grogs evolve and to arbitrarily decide the great changes in their lives (marriage, children, wounds, death...).

For a finer and more personnalized approach, I suggest getting back to the 3rd edition rules, slightly modified. A character starts aging at 35 + Stamina. In the winter of the year when he reaches that age and all the subsequent winters, he rolls on the following aging table.

Aging roll = Simple die + (Age/10)- + Decrepitude [- Longevity potion bonus]

Roll Effect
1 None
2 None
3 None
4 None
5 None
6 Perception
7 Quickness
8 Dexterity
9 Strength
10 Stamina
11 Presence
12 Communication
13 Intelligence
14 Decrepitude point
15 Death

Experience and advancement

Teaching

The Teaching skill applies to Knowledges and Arts. To be an efficient teaExpensive, the character must have a minimum level of 3 in an ability and 5 in an Art. A teaExpensive can teach at most Communication + Teaching students.

For each student, the Study Total is equal to Communication (TeaExpensive) + Teaching + Intelligence (Student) + 6. This total gives the experience points accumulated in a season for Arts. For abilities, divide by 5 and round up. A student cannot gain more that three ability or Art levels in one season, and can never surpass his master's level.

Books

Only use summae. The rest is cumbersome and can easily be abused. Not to render the character's library too powerful, the storyguide might have to keep the book quality with reasonable limits (about half the book's level, never more than the book's level).

IX. Covenants

Here is a major flaw in the 4th edition. I see two solutions: either develop the Covenant "by instinct", with roleplay and common sense; or, if the first solution is not sufficiently well bounded, re-use the "Covenants" 3rd edition sourcebook.

XI. Realms

Realm interaction

There are two extreme approaches to manage interactions between the Magic, Faerie, Divine, and Infernal Realms: keep the rules as they are with all the mental computation they induce (not that this is not infeasible), or simply suppress these influences (that would be a shame, though). A possible intermediary approach is to qualify aura strength on a smaller scale: weak (no perceptible influence - basic bonus/penalty: 0), average (clearly perceptible influence - basic bonus/penalty: 5), or strong (disturbing influence - basic bonus/penalty: 10). The interaction table thus becomes the following.

Power used
Aura type Magic Divine Faerie Infernal
Magic 0/+5/+10 0/-5/-10 0/+3/+5 0/-5/-10
Divine 0/-5/-10 0/+5/+10 0/-10/-20 0/-15/-30
Faerie 0/+3/+5 0/-10/-20 0/+5/+10 0/-5/-10
Infernal 0/-5/-10 0/-10/-20 0/-10/-20 0/-10/-20

Regiones

Regiones are mythic areas that coexist with our dimension, some kinds of pocket parallel universes. They have only one layer and are defined by their aura (its type and might). To enter a regio, a Perception stress roll (plus any applicable bonus) is needed against a difficulty factor provided by the following table (using the aura strengths defined in the "Realm interaction" paragraph). If the aura outside the regio is not aligned to the aura within, always consider it as weak.

Regio aura strength
Mundane dimension aura strength Weak Average Strong
Weak 9 12 15
Average - 9 12
Strong - - 9

Bibliography

  1. M. de Verteuil, "Heretic's Corner", Hermes' Portal 1, Sept. 2001.

Acknowledgments


[ Top | Back to house rules ]

Last update: 09/09/2017

Counter

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS! Page testée (accessibilité) par Ocawa

Retour
Ars Magica

[ Accueil | Alliance | Ressources | Gamme | Liens | Archives ] English version

Règles maison

Ars Magica Simplex
Version 0.6

Ars Magica est un jeu merveilleux et riche. De cette richesse découle une certaine complexité, qui s'est accrue dans certains domaines au fil des éditions et des suppléments. Si, comme moi, vous avez moins de temps pour jouer, moins de temps à consacrer aux détails "mécaniques", ou que vos joueurs sont moins enclins que d'autres à se plonger dans des règles complètes (c'est aussi mon cas), cet article vous plaira peut-être. Il vise, un peu à la manière de la rubrique Heretic's Corner de Michaël de Verteuil dans Hermes' Portal, mais moins radicalement, à simplifier les règles d'Ars Magica, tout en conservant la compatibilité avec le jeu officiel et ses suppléments. J'aborderai donc, chapitre par chapitre (les numéros sont conservés), tous les points des règles de la 4ème édition qu'il me paraît intéressant de modifier. Je m'attacherai plus principalement aux mécanismes qui servent le plus, laissant de côté ceux qui peuvent facilement être considérés comme des options. Évidemment, tout cela est à traiter comme des suggestions, pas comme les tables de la loi, d'autant que je n'ai pas eu l'occasion de tester toutes ces idées en jeu.

II. Personnages

Vices et vertus

Ramener les Compagnons à un maximum de 7 points de vices/vertus. Le maximum à 10 encourage généralement les joueurs à l'atteindre et il n'y a pas suffisamment de vices et vertus vulgaires pour cela. On aboutit de plus souvent à des personnages... pas très cohérents, pour utiliser un euphémisme.

Compétences

Compétences à supprimer

Compétence à fusionner

Liste des compétences simplifiée

TALENTS APTITUDES CONNAISSANCES
Talents mystiques
Affinité magique
Finesse (Pe)
Magie féerique
Pouvoir sur sa forme (Én)
Talents généraux
Athlétisme (Én, De, Vi)
Charme (Pr)
Concentration (Én, In)
Ruse (Co, Pe)
Vigilance (Pe)
Talents exceptionnels
Contorsion (De, Fo)
Divination (In)
Double vue (Pe)
Empathie
Empathie animale (In, Pe)
Guérison
Hypnotisme (Pr)
Imitation (Co)
Lecture sur les lèvres (Pe)
Malédiction
Musique ensorcelante (Pr)
Perception sainteté et malignité
Prédiction du temps (Pe)
Prémonition
Sensibilité à la magie (Pe)
Sens de l'orientation (Pe)
Sourcier (Pe)
Visions
Aptitudes académiques
Enseignement (Co)
Aptitudes martiales
Bagarre
Armes simples
Armes articulées
Armes lourdes
Armes d'hast
Armes de jet
Arcs
Arbalètes
Armes de siège
Aptitudes Hermétiques
Certamen (In)
Magie de Verditius
Parma Magica
Aptitudes artistiques
Chant (Co)
Conte (Co)
Instrument de musique (De, Co)
Jonglerie (Co, De)
Aptitudes crapuleuses
Crochetage (De)
Déguisement (Pe)
Discrétion (De)
Doigts agiles (De, Vi)
Falsification (Co, In)
Aptitudes sociales
Commandement (Pr)
Étiquette (Pr, Co)
Intrigue (Pr, Co, Pe)
Marchandage (Pr, Co)
Aptitudes en extérieur
Connaissance animaux (In, Pe)
Équitation (De, Fo)
Survie (Pe, In)
Aptitudes professionnelles
Artisanat (In, De)
Chirurgie (In, De)
Navigation (De)
Connaissances académiques
Artes Liberales (In)
Droit civil et droit canon (In)
Latin (In)
Médecine (In)
Philosophiae (In)
Théologie (In)
Connaissances mystiques
Connaissance de la Féerie (In)
Occultisme (In)
Sagesse Énigmatique (Pe, In)
Théorie de la Magie (In)
Connaissances communes
Connaissance organisation (In)
Connaissance d'une région (In)
Connaissance des légendes (In)
Langues (In)
Connaissances exceptionnelles
Alchimie (In)
Herboristerie (In)

Spécialités

Pour se simplifier la vie à la création des personnages, ne pas faire choisir leurs spécialités aux joueurs tout de suite. Le Conteur pourra les attribuer plus tard, si nécessaire, selon les actions réelles des personnages. Une petite récompense supplémentaire, en quelque sorte.

III. Magie Hermétique

Vis brut

Ne pas différencier le Vis par technique et par forme. Le Vis brut est une énergie générique qui peut être utilisée pour n'importe quel type de magie. En contrepartie, le Conteur devra sans doute être moins généreux au niveau des sources de Vis.

Lancement de sortilèges

Compléments

Supprimer les compléments de lancer. En faire soit des compléments normaux, soit les éliminer purement et simplement. En règle générale, en créant de nouveaux sorts, limiter les compléments au maximum.

Cibler

Certains sorts atteignent leur cible à tout coup, d'autres non. Pourquoi, au fond ? C'est magique, après tout ! De plus, les amateurs de boules de flammes et autres éclairs sont habituellement suffisamment experts en Finesse pour toucher à tous les coups, alors autant s'épargner de la peine. Considérer que tout sortilège correctement lancé atteint sa cible.

Résistance à la magie

Ne pas lancer de dé, ni pour la résistance magique, ni pour la pénétration (considérer directement le niveau du sort et non le jet de dés). C'est justifié pour les sorts formels qui sont sensés toujours produire plus ou moins le même effet. Les sorts spontanés ont bien sûr leur niveau défini par le jet de dés.

Certamen

La perte de Fatigue a lieu pour chaque tranche de 5 points d'écart, même incomplète, entre les jets de dés. Cela permet d'accélérer les duels.

IV. Laboratoire

Le laboratoire en jeu

Activités multiples

Il est impossible d'avoir des activités multiples.

Apprentis

Enseigner à un apprenti

Lorsqu'il devient apprenti, un enfant dispose de son âge en points d'expérience. Ces points sont répartis dans les compétences par le Conteur. Pendant les 15 ans qui suivent, l'apprenti gagne 3 points d'expérience lors de la saison que lui consacre son maître, plus 1 point par imprégnation, soit 4 points par an dans les compétences, à répartir par le joueur du mage (se référer aux archétypes par Maison). Les 10 premières années de l'apprentissage, le Conteur assigne également 1 point aux compétences de l'apprenti.

De surcroît, un apprenti gagne 10 points d'expérience dans les Arts et 10 niveaux de sorts par an pendant les 15 ans de son apprentissage, à la discrétion du joueur. Les niveaux de sorts acquis peuvent être cumulés pour acquérir ultérieurement un sort plus puissant.

Méthode rapide

Si les apprentis ne sont utilisés que comme des aides de laboratoire, le plus simple est de leur attribuer un score d'Intelligence et de leur octroyer automatiquement un point d'expérience par an en Théorie de la magie (ce qui leur permet d'atteindre le score de 5 au bout de 15 ans).

VI. Combat

C'est curieux comme le combat dans Ars Magica, bien que clairement secondaire, est précis et, accessoirement, calculatoire. La 4ème édition a fait une tentative pour alléger le système, tout en incluant de nouvelles lourdeurs, ce qui a été au final contre-productif. Cette proposition va à mon sens un pas plus loin dans la simplification tout en conservant un esprit identique et en redevenant cohérente avec la gestion des compétences classiques.

Totaux de combat à pré-calculer

Séquence de combat

1. Mouvement : Chaque joueur déclare les mouvements et les actions de son personnage. Ensuite, tout s'enchaîne selon les phases suivantes. À l'intérieur de chaque phase, les actions sont simultanées.

2. Premiers tirs :

Description de la cible Modificateur
Au Toucher / À Portée (moins de 2 mètres) Impossible de tirer
À Proximité (moins de 15 mètres) +3
Portée moyenne (moins de 50 mètres) 0
Loin (moins de 200 mètres) +6
Cachée (obscurité ou obstacle) +3
Immobile ou se déplaçant lentement 0
En train de courir +3
En train de sprinter +6
Petite ou grande taille - Taille
Viser pendant une phase de tir -3
Viv + Compétence Arcs Arbalète légère Arbalète lourde
-8(*) à -5 2/- 2/- 3/-
-4 à 0 1/- 2/- 2/-
1 à -5 1/- 1/- 2/-
6 à 10 1/2 1/- 1/-
11 et + 1/1 1/2 1/-

(*) -8 est le minimum théorique avec -5 en Vivacité et pas de maîtrise de la compétence (malus de -3).

3. Mêlée :

Situation Modificateur
Mauvaise main -3
Position surélevée +3
Charge +3
Charge à cheval +6
Prêt à recevoir une charge +3

4. Seconds tirs : Comme premiers tirs

5. Magie : D'abord la magie spontanée, puis la magie formelle. Un mage vêtu d'une armure doit réussir au préalable un jet d'Énergie + Concentration pour parvenir à lancer son sort. Le facteur de difficulté est fixé par la table de Fatigue ci-contre.

Fatigue

Si un personnage obtient un 0 au dé pendant un combat, même si ce n'est pas un désastre, il doit réussir un jet de tension d'Énergie + Athlétisme dont le facteur de difficulté est donné par la table ci-dessous. En cas d'échec, le personnage perd un niveau de Fatigue, en cas de désastre, deux niveaux ou plus (selon la gravité du désastre, à la discrétion du Conteur).

Armure portée Facteur de Difficulté
Fourrure / Étoffe 3
Cuir bouilli 6
Cuir renforcé 9
Anneaux 9
Écailles 12
Mailles 12
Bouclier ou arme à deux mains +3

Dégâts

Un personnage blessé perd un niveau de Santé par tranche de 5 points de dégâts, même incomplète.

Options de combat

Attaque par surprise

Le combattant surpris ne lance pas de dé, il oppose juste son total Dextérité + Compétence martiale au jet de son adversaire.

Infériorité numérique

Le personnage en infériorité numérique oppose le même jet de dés à tous ses assaillants, mais il souffre d'une pénalité de -3 par adversaire au delà du premier (-6 pour 3 adversaires, par exemple).

Désarmer un adversaire

Pour désarmer un adversaire, il faut le déclarer à l'avance et dépasser son jet de dés de 10 points ou plus. L'adversaire est alors désarmé, mais ne subit pas de dégât.

Combat à cheval

L'aptitude martiale du combattant est limitée à son score en Équitation. Le combattant monté bénéficie d'un bonus de +3 à son jet de combat (position surélevée). Les jets de Fatigue sont remplacés par des jets de Dextérité + Équitation à 9+. En cas d'échec, le combattant perd un niveau de Fatigue. En cas de désastre, il chute et perd un niveau de Santé ou plus (selon la gravité du désastre, à la discrétion du Conteur).

Combat à mains nues

Armes et Armures

Arme Dégâts Force Portée Coût
Bagarre
Poing
Pied
Gantelet
Couteau
Dague
 
+0
+1
+1
+2
+3
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
-
-
Bon marché
Bon marché
Bon marché
Armes simples
Épieu
Masse
Hache
Épée courte
Épée longue
 
+4
+5
+6
+4
+5
 
-2
-1
+0
-2
-1
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
Bon marché
Bon marché
Standard
Standard
Standard
Armes articulées
Filet
Fouet
Morningstar (2m)
Fléau (2m)
 
+0 (*)
+2
+8
+7
 
-2
-2
+1
+0
 
-
-
-
-
 
Bon marché
Standard
Cher
Standard
Armes lourdes
Bâton
Espadon
Hallebarde
Marteau de guerre
Hache de guerre
 
+3
+8
+9
+10
+10
 
-2
+1
+1
+2
+2
 
-
-
-
-
-
 
Bon marché
Cher
Cher
Standard
Cher
Armes d'hast
Lance
Pique
Vouge
 
+6
+7
+8
 
-1
+0
+1
 
-
-
-
 
Bon marché
Standard
Standard
Armes de jet
Pierre
Fronde
Couteau de jet
Hachette
Javelot
Caber
 
+2
+3
+3
+4
+6
+10
 
-
-
-
-1
-1
+3
 
Proximité
Moyenne
Proximité
Proximité
Proximité
Proximité
 
-
Bon marché
Standard
Standard
Standard
Standard
Arcs
Arc court
Arc long
Arc composite
 
+4
+10
+9
 
-1
+1
+0
 
Loin
Loin
Loin
 
Standard
Standard
Cher
Arbalètes
Arbalète légère
Arbalète lourde
 
+10
+12
 
-2
-2
 
Loin
Loin
 
Cher
Cher

(*) Si l'attaque est réussie, un jet de Dextérité de 9+ est nécessaire pour se dégager.

Armure Protection Force Coût
Fourrure / Étoffe 1 - Bon marché
Cuir bouilli 3 - Bon marché
Cuir renforcé 5 - Standard
Anneaux 6 - Standard
Écailles 7 - Standard
Mailles 8 - Cher
Petit bouclier +1 -1 Standard
Rondache +2 +0 Standard
Écu +2 +0 Cher
Targe +4 +1 Cher

VII. Conteur

Vieillissement

Les règles de la 4ème édition sont très élégantes, mais quand il s'agit de faire vieillir toute une turbula, bonjour la prise de tête ! Pour une gestion simple, le mieux est de ne pas faire évoluer les servants et de décider arbitrairement des grands changements dans leur vie (mariage, enfants, blessure, départ, mort...).

Pour un suivi plus fin et personnalisé, je suggère de revenir aux règles de la 3ème édition à peine modifiées. Un personnage commencent à vieillir à 35 + Énergie ans. L'hiver de l'année où il atteint cet âge et tous les hivers par la suite, il fait un jet sur la table de vieillissement ci-dessous.

Jet de vieillissement = 1d simple + (Âge/10)- + Décrépitude [- Bonus potion de longévité]

Jet Effet
1 Aucun
2 Aucun
3 Aucun
4 Aucun
5 Aucun
6 Perception
7 Vivacité
8 Dextérité
9 Force
10 Energie
11 Présence
12 Communication
13 Intelligence
14 Point de Décrépitude
15 Mort

Expérience et progression des personnages

Enseignement

La compétence Enseignement s'applique aux Connaissances et aux Arts magiques. Pour être un professeur efficace, l'enseignant doit avoir un niveau minimum de 3 dans une compétence ou 5 dans un Art. Un enseignant peut officier auprès de Communication + Enseignement élèves au maximum.

Pour chaque élève est calculé un Total d'Étude égal à Communication (Enseignant) + Enseignement + Intelligence (Élève) + 6. Ce total donne les points d'expériences accumulés en une saison pour les Arts. Pour les compétences, diviser par 5 et arrondir au-dessus. Un élève peut gagner au maximum trois niveaux de compétence ou d'Art en une saison, et en aucun cas il ne peut dépasser le niveau de l'enseignant.

Ouvrages

N'utiliser que les summae. Le reste se révèle lourd à l'usage et les abus sont aisés. Afin d'éviter de rendre la bibliothèque des personnages surpuissante, le Conteur devra cependant veiller à garder la qualité des ouvrages dans les limites du raisonnable (autour de la moitié du niveau du livre, jamais plus du niveau du livre).

IX. Alliances

Là, on tombe sur une grosse faiblesse de la 4ème édition. Je vois deux solutions : ou bien développer l'Alliance "à l'instinct", à coup de roleplay et de bon sens ; ou bien, si la première solution ne paraît pas suffisamment cadrée, reprendre les règle du supplément "Les Alliances" de la 3ème édition.

XI. Royaumes

Interaction entre les royaumes

Il y a deux approches extrêmes pour gérer les interactions entre les Royaumes Magique, Féerique, Divin et Infernal : garder les règles telles qu'elles avec les calculs mentaux que cela implique (ça n'a rien d'infaisable, notez bien) ou supprimer purement et simplement ces influences (ce qui serait fort dommage, tout de même). Une approche intermédiaire possible est de qualifier la force des auras sur une échelle plus réduite : faible (pas d'influence notable - bonus/malus de base : 0), moyenne (influence nettement perceptible - bonus/malus de base : 5) ou forte (influence gênante - bonus/malus de base : 10). La table d'interaction devient alors la suivante.

Pouvoir utilisé
Type d'aura Magique Divin Féerique Infernal
Magique 0/+5/+10 0/-5/-10 0/+3/+5 0/-5/-10
Divine 0/-5/-10 0/+5/+10 0/-10/-20 0/-15/-30
Féerique 0/+3/+5 0/-10/-20 0/+5/+10 0/-5/-10
Infernale 0/-5/-10 0/-10/-20 0/-10/-20 0/-10/-20

Regiones

Les regiones sont des zones mythiques coexistant avec notre dimension, des genres d'univers parallèles de poche. Ils n'ont qu'une seule couche et sont définis par l'aura qui y règne (son type et sa puissance). Pour entrer dans un regio, un jet de tension de Perception (plus tout bonus applicable) est nécessaire contre un facteur de difficulté donné par le tableau ci-dessous (en utilisant les forces d'aura définies dans le paragraphe "Interaction entre les royaumes"). Si l'aura hors du regio n'est pas alignée avec celle qui règne à l'intérieur, la considérer systématiquement comme faible.

Force de l'aura du regio
Aura de la dimension vulgaire Faible Moyenne Forte
Faible 9 12 15
Moyenne - 9 12
Forte - - 9

Bibliographie

  1. M. de Verteuil, "Heretic's Corner", Hermes' Portal 1, Sept. 2001.

Remerciements

Téléchargement

Fichier pdf (55 Ko)


[ Haut de page | Retour aux règles maison ]

Dernière mise à jour : 09/09/2017

Compteur

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS! Page testée (accessibilité) par Ocawa