Back
Castle Falkenstein

[ Home | Characters | Resources | Reviews | Links ] Version française

Game material

Castle Falkenstein rules and sourcebooks, marked by our host on a 1-5 scale.

The most recent sourcebooks are reviewed on my blog (only in French, sorry).

Château Falkenstein (Castle Falkenstein, French edition by Jeux Descartes)

Château Falkenstein

This game is great. GREAT! The background, nicely mixing the historical Victorian era, anachro-technology, and magic, the card-based rules (duels and magic are particularly well thought)... Everything is great! And the book is superb! Wether you like high adventure or dark plots, Falkenstein is for you! Don't miss it...

*****

L'Ère de la Vapeur (Steam Age, French edition by Jeux Descartes)

L'Ère de la Vapeur

This technology catalog is not really exciting... Maybe not excentric enough? The scenario is nice, but railroading a lot and players feel it (some railroad scenarios are good, some even say these are the best scenarios, but players mustn't feel it...).

***

Comme il Faut (R. Talsorian Games)

Comme Il Faut

Almost indispensable, though sometimes a little academic (read boring).

****

The Book of Sigils (R. Talsorian Games)

The Book of Sigils

This fiction interleaved with rules is so much fun to read! Everything is in there to set up a great "secret societies and dark plots" atmosphere. A must-have! And the additional rules are very interesting too.

*****

Six-guns & Sorcery (R. Talsorian Games)

Six-guns and Sorcery

One could think this sourcebook was written by americans who are annoyed Falkenstein is set-up in New Europa. That's probably not completely wrong... But anyway, Six-Gun & Sorcery is a jewel for uchronias and the Wild Wild West amateurs!

*****

The Memoirs of Auberon of Faerie (R. Talsorian Games)

The Memoirs of Auberon of Faerie

The origins of faes are a bit silly. Probably too "power-great" for me, I guess. The faerie bestiary looks like a souless catalog. Only if you host a lot of faerie characters in your game.

***

The Lost Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci (R. Talsorian Games)

The Lost Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci

Visually superb, rather boring to read... Too bad!

**

From Prussia With Love (Novel)

From Prussia With Love (Novel)

Very, very bad. The author is very far from the Falkenstein style (heroes fart and belch, for instance). The story is nothing but scenes added together. It wouldn't even be a good RPG scenario.

*

Masterminds of Falkenstein (Novel)

Masterminds of Falkenstein (Novel)

In two words, it is very bad: the style is not at all victorian, the story makes no sense, the characters are dull and stupid. A real mess!

*

GURPS Castle Falkenstein - The Ottoman Empire (Steve Jackson Games)

GURPS Castle Falkenstein - The Ottoman Empire

Designed for both GURPS and Castle Falkenstein (game stats are provided for both systems), this sourcebook is almost as good as Six Guns & Sorcery. It is much thinner than Six Guns & Sorcery, and probably more historical than Falkensteinian, but it is still an excellent sourcebook.

*****


Material designed for other games, but nonetheless useful

GURPS Castle Falkenstein (Steve Jackson Games)

GURPS Castle Falkenstein

A good synthesis of existing CF books with the GURPS rules, this sourcebook also introduces some new information about South America, Africa and Asia. Certainly not indispensable, but I'd advise it warmly to GURPS players.

****

GURPS Steampunk (Steve Jackson Games)

GURPS Steampunk

Very beautiful sourcebook, well done, visually great, complete. It's only missing the tiny little thing that makes Castle Falkenstein a great game, in my opinion. Lots of things to pick-up for countries outside Europe, in a Falkenstein perspective.

****

For Faeries, Queen, and Country (TSR)

For Faeries, Queen, and Country

Far to be indispensable, this antique is however pleasant and useful, expecially regarding the faes and England. The colour map is superb.

***

Space: 1889

Space: 1889

A game of victorian sci-fi, Space: 1889 is closer to the real XIXth Century history, and more centered on the British colonial Empire than Castle Falkenstein, but it is largely compatible. Its basic idea is that Thomas Edison discovered an engine that propels vessels in the ether, opening the colonization of the inner planets of the Solar system (mainly Mars and Venus, actually). The basic system is simple and elegant, but suffers from flaws that are very 80's (e.g., different rules and dice rolls for different cases). The background is mainly dedicated to Mars the decadent, and it is the main point of interest in the book (Venus the prehistoric is described in a couple of pages and a pretty bad scenario helps in discovering the Moon -- adventure ideas dot the book, but they are all ridiculous, e.g., after the description of a creature or area: "the PCs travel in this area and encounter this creature"). The whole game has nevertheless a lot of charm and many elements (the technology, the background...) are exploitable in Falkenstein.

****


[ Top ]

Last update: 09/09/2017

Counter

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS! Page testée (accessibilité) par Ocawa

Retour
Castle Falkenstein

[ Accueil | Personnages | Ressources | Gamme | Liens ] English version

Matériel de jeu

Les règles et suppléments Château Falkenstein, notés sur une échelle de 1 à 5 par notre hôte.

Les suppléments les plus récents sont chroniqués sur mon blog.

Château Falkenstein (Jeux Descartes)

Château Falkenstein

Ce jeu est proprement génial. GE-NIAL ! Que ce soit le cadre, qui mêle habilement l'époque victorienne historique à l'anachro-technologie et à la magie, où les règles à bases de cartes (les duels et la magie sont particulièrement réussis), il n'y a rien à jeter, vraiment. Et en plus, le bouquin est super-beau ! Que vous aimiez l'aventure flamboyante ou les sombres complots, Falkenstein est pour vous ! Ne vous en privez pas...

*****

L'Ère de la Vapeur (Jeux Descartes)

L'Ère de la Vapeur

Pas vraiment excitant, le catalogue de technologie... Peut-être pas assez excentrique ? Le scénario proposé est sympa, mais bien bien linéaire et ça se sent (y'a de bons scénarios linéaires, certains disent même qu'il n'y a que ceux-là qui sont vraiment bons, mais il ne faut pas que les ficelles se voient...).

***

Comme il Faut (R. Talsorian Games)

Comme Il Faut

Quasi-indispensable, bien qu'un peu académique (lire chiant) par moment.

****

The Book of Sigils (R. Talsorian Games)

The Book of Sigils

Cette fiction entrecoupée d'encarts de règles est un régal. Tout est là pour installer une superbe ambiance "sociétés secrètes et sombres complots". Un must ! Et les règles additionnelles sont très interessantes itou.

*****

Six-guns & Sorcery (R. Talsorian Games)

Six-guns and Sorcery

On pourrait penser que ce sont des américains un peu vexés que Falkenstein se passe uniquement en Nouvelle Europe qui ont écrit ce supplément. Ce n'est sans doute pas complètement faux... Mais ça n'empêche pas Six-Gun & Sorcery d'être un bijou pour les amateurs d'uchronies et des Mystères de l'Ouest !

*****

The Memoirs of Auberon of Faerie (R. Talsorian Games)

The Memoirs of Auberon of Faerie

Les origines des fées sont un brin délirantes. Trop grandioses pour moi, sans doute. Le bestiaire féerique sonne un peu trop comme un catalogue sans âme. À réserver aux hôtes qui ont de nombreuses fées dans les rangs des joueurs.

***

The Lost Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci (R. Talsorian Games)

The Lost Notebooks of Leonardo da Vinci

Visuellement superbe, plutôt chiant à la lecture... Dommage !

**

From Prussia With Love (Roman)

From Prussia With Love (Roman)

Vraiment très mauvais. L'auteur est passé à côté du style Falkenstein (les héros pètent et rotent, par exemple). L'histoire n'est qu'un enchaînement de scènes mises bout à bout. Ca ne ferait même pas un bon scénario de JdR.

*

Masterminds of Falkenstein (Roman)

Masterminds of Falkenstein (Roman)

En deux mots, c'est très mauvais : style pas victorien pour un sous, histoire sans queue ni tête, personnages insipides et idiots. Un vrai gachis !

*

GURPS Castle Falkenstein - The Ottoman Empire (Steve Jackson Games)

GURPS Castle Falkenstein - The Ottoman Empire

Conçu à la fois pour GURPS et Château Falkenstein (les caractéristiques techniques sont fournies pour les deux systèmes), ce supplément est le digne sucesseur de Six Guns & Sorcery. Certes, il est beaucoup moins dense que le pavé sus-cité, il est sans doute également plus historique que Falkensteinien, mais cela demeure un excellent supplément.

*****


Matériel pour d'autres jeux mais pouvant néanmoins servir

GURPS Castle Falkenstein (Steve Jackson Games)

GURPS Castle Falkenstein

Bonne synthèse des suppléments CF existants plus les règles de GURPS, ce supplément introduit également des nouveautés de background concernant l'Amérique du Sud, l'Afrique et l'Asie. Il n'est certainement pas indispensable, mais je le recommande chaudement aux joueurs de GURPS.

****

GURPS Steampunk (Steve Jackson Games)

GURPS Steampunk

Très beau supplément, bien fait, bien illustré, complet. Il ne lui manque à mon avis que la petite touche en plus qui fait de Château Falkenstein un grand jeu. Pas mal de choses à piocher en ce qui concerne les pays hors Europe, d'ailleurs, en ce qui concerne Falkenstein.

****

For Faeries, Queen, and Country (TSR)

For Faeries, Queen, and Country

Loin d'être indispensable, cette antiquité est cependant plaisante et utile, notamment en ce qui concerne les fées et l'Angleterre. La carte en couleur est superbe.

***

Space: 1889

Space: 1889

Jeu de SF victorienne, Space: 1889 est beaucoup plus proche de l'histoire réelle du XIXème siècle que Château Falkenstein, et plus centré sur l'empire colonial britannique, mais il est largement compatible. L'idée de base est que Thomas Edison a découvert un moteur capable de propulser des vaisseaux dans l'éther qui emplit le vide spatial, ouvrant la voie à la colonisation des planètes intérieures du systèmes solaires (principalement Mars et Vénus, en fait). Le système de base est simple et élégant, mais souffre de défauts très 80's (règles et jets de dés différents selon les cas particuliers, notamment). Côté backround, la part belle est faite à Mars la décadente et c'est le principal intérêt de l'ouvrage (Vénus la préhistorique est expédiée en quelques pages et un mauvais scénario permet de découvrir la Lune -- les idées de scénarios pullulent par ailleurs, mais sont invariablement indigentes, du genre, suite à la description d'une créature ou d'une région : "les PJ voyagent dans telle région et sont confrontés à telle créature"). Tout cela a cependant beaucoup de charme et de nombreux éléments (la technologie, le background...) sont récupérables pour Falkenstein.

****


[ Haut de page ]

Dernière mise à jour : 09/10/2016

Compteur

Valid XHTML 1.1 Valid CSS! Page testée (accessibilité) par Ocawa